Consolidating snapshots

Consolidating snapshots for a virtual machine When you initiate a Delete or DeleteAll operation on snapshots, the snapshot is immediately deleted from Snapshot Manager, then the backing Virtual Machine Disk .vmdk files are consolidated on-disk. If the consolidation fails, some Virtual Disk files may remain on disk and/or be actively used on the Datastore, consuming storage capacity.…